Peuples Autochtones

Le 2 mars 2017 dernier, huit représentants de programmes divers au Canada travaillant sur le recrutement de membres des Peuples autochtones dans les métiers de la construction se sont réunis pendant une journée de travail à l’initiative de Bâtir Ensemble, Les Peuples autochtones des métiers de la construction, un programme des syndicats des métiers de la construction du Canada (SMCC).

Il y avait des représentants de :

  • Trade Winds to Success
  • Les syndicats des métiers de la construction de la Saskatchewan
  • Astaldi
  • Operating Engineers Local 793
  • LIUNA Local 92
  • SkillPlan

Ne pouvant être présents : Les syndicats des métiers de la construction de la Colombie-Britannique et Aboriginal Apprenticeship Board of Ontario.

Les objectifs de la rencontre étaient :

  • Une analyse des expériences des Peuples autochtones dans les métiers de la construction.
  • Discuter les changements nécessaires afin de combler les besoins et attentes des membres des Peuples autochtones.
  • Développer un plan d’action pour SMCC et autres groupes pour répondre aux besoins identifiés.

Nous avons eu une rencontre productive combinant analyse et développements de tactiques.

Nous avons maintenant une meilleure compréhension pour la suite des choses afin de mieux travailler avec les communautés autochtones partout au pays


Selon Richard Hill, chercheur et auteur de Skywalkers, a History of Indian Ironworkers (1987), la construction fait partie de la tradition autochtone. Les peuples des Premières Nations, Métis et Inuit ont toujours conçu et construit des structures pour une variété d’usages tels des maisons, des ponts et sculptures. Au sein des cultures de la forêt, les villages étaient si élaborés que les Européens les nommaient « châteaux » et « forts ». Pendant des générations, les peuples autochtones ont adapté leur environnement afin de bâtir des abris pour leurs familles, pour protéger leurs villages et exprimer leur foi. Les architectes et ingénieurs contemporains commencent à peine de reconnaître la vraie valeur des techniques de construction des peuples autochtones partout en Amérique du Nord. Plusieurs hommes et femmes continuent de travailler dans les métiers de la construction afin de supporter leurs familles. Pour nombreux d’entre eux et elles, la construction est une tradition à perpétuer en raison de ses caractéristiques coopératives. Le travail est une partie importante des sociétés autochtones, où les hommes et les femmes ont longtemps travaillé ensemble pour le bien de leurs communautés.

 

Alors que nous élaborons des méthodes pour rejoindre les Peuples autochtones, nous devons être conscients que nous entendons constamment l’importance de les inclure dans l’élaboration des projets, mais souvent leur participation n’est sollicitée bien après l’étape de développement.  Selon nous, cette façon de faire ne permet pas d’intégrer les savoirs des Peuples autochtones. Au lieu de répéter des erreurs du passé, BÂTIR ENSEMBLE propose d’intégrer la participation des Peuples autochtones dès le départ, pour ainsi élaborer un programme par et pour les Peuples autochtones. Nous savons aussi qu’une approche uniforme mur à mur n’est pas adéquate, nous allons ainsi recueillir les propositions de diverses communautés autochtones à travers le pays.

 

Nous avons hâte de collaborer avec les organisations des Peuples autochtones afin d’offrir des opportunités et recevoir en retour les bénéfices de leurs savoirs et expériences. Le gouvernement du Canada a fait des droits et des opportunités pour les Peuples autochtones des priorités d’action. Il a aussi mis l’emphase sur les investissements en infrastructure afin de bâtir de meilleures communautés à travers le pays. Il n’y a pas de meilleure façon de contribuer à l’atteinte de ces objectifs qu’en visant la participation des Peuples autochtones et les traiter en tant que bâtisseurs du Canada, ce qu’ils ont toujours été.

 

Ressources

ConstruForce Canada : Ressources de recrutement pour Autochtones

http://www.buildforce.ca/fr/catalog/recruitment/aboriginal-people

Site web Aboriginal Construction Careers

http://www.aboriginalconstructioncareers.ca/toolkit 

Trade Winds To Success offre un programme innovant élaboré pour les Autochtones adultes ayant décidé de faire un changement dans leur vie et voulant entreprendre une carrière dans les métiers de la construction. Ce programme vise à faire une évaluation individuelle afin d’aider les Autochtones d’identifier leurs besoins. Le programme est offert en Alberta.

http://www.tradewindstosuccess.ca/ 

Aboriginal Apprenticeship Board of Ontario

http://aabo.ca/ 

The Indigenous Inclusion Continuum developed by Indigenous Works

https://indigenousworks.ca/en/products/item/inclusion-continuum 

Sommet pour l’innovation autochtone: Initiative des Centres d’amitié

http://nafc.ca/fr/indigenous-innovation-summit/

Les Peuples autochtones dans les métiers de la construction ont du succès dans tous les métiers-apprentis en Colombie-Britannique, ils travaillent dans des secteurs à forte demande et se lancent en affaires.

http://www.itabc.ca/aboriginal-people-trades/success-stories

Indigenous

2017 Workshop: Recruiting and Retaining Indigenous Peoples in the Building Trades
On​ ​March​ ​2, 2017,​ ​eight​ ​representatives​ ​of​ ​various​ ​programs across Canada that work to recruit and retain Indigenous Peoples to careers in the Building Trades​ ​convened​ ​for a ​​facilitated​ ​a​ ​one-day​ ​workshop in Ottawa hosted by Build Together, Indigenous Peoples of the Building Trades, a Canada’s Building Trades Unions program.There was representation from:

  • Trade Winds to Success
  • Saskatchewan Building Trades
  • Astaldi
  • Operating Engineers Local 793
  • LIUNA Local 92
  • SkillPlan

Unable to attend were representatives from the BC Building Trades & The Aboriginal Apprenticeship Board of Ontario.

The​ ​objectives​ ​of​ ​the​ ​day​ ​were to:

  • Review​ ​current​ ​experiences​ ​of ​Indigenous​ ​peoples​ ​in​ ​the​ ​building​ ​trades.
  • Discuss​ ​the​ ​changes and opportunities​ ​Indigenous​ ​peoples​​ ​need ​to​ ​see​ ​in​ ​the industry to​ ​meet​ ​their​ ​needs.
  • Develop​ ​actionable​ ​items​ ​for​ ​CBTU ​and​ ​others​ ​that​ ​meet​ ​or​ ​support​ ​these​ ​needs.

We had engaging ​roundtable​ ​discussions, ​ ​a​ ​SWOC​ ​analysis ​​and a ​tactics​ ​development​ ​session.

Moving forward, we now have a better understanding of how we can engage in meaningful work with Indigenous communities across Canada.


According to Richard Hill’s research and writing in Skywalkers, a History of Indian Ironworkers (1987), construction is part of Aboriginal tradition. First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples have always designed and built diverse structures for a variety of uses including homes, bridges, and sculptures. Among Woodland cultures, early villages were so extensive that Europeans called the structures “castles” and “forts.” For generations, Aboriginal peoples have been reshaping their environment to build shelter for their families, to protect their villages, and to express their sacred concerns. Modern architects and engineers are just beginning to recognize the true value of construction techniques of Aboriginal peoples across North America. Many men and women continue to participate in the construction trades to earn a living and provide for their families. For many, construction is a tradition because of the cooperative approach of the trade. Labour is an important part of Aboriginal societies, where men and women have long worked collectively for the benefit of their communities.

As we design a method to reach out to Indigenous Peoples, we know that often they are told their input is important in projects, but their feedback is not sought until well after the development stage. This is not a meaningful method to solicit Indigenous knowledge. Rather than making this error, Build Together is looking to integrate First Nations input right from the beginning, building in collaboration with, and for, Indigenous people. We also get that one size won’t fit all and will therefore collect input from various Indigenous groups across the country, to ensure that we don’t end up with a program specifically designed by one Indigenous group for all others. Creating programming that is aware of, and inclusive of, these different groups is a more powerful way to provide programming and information.

We look forward to working alongside Indigenous organizations and governance to both provide opportunities and receive the benefits of the knowledge and experience these communities can provide. The Government of Canada has made both the rights of and opportunities for Indigenous people a priority. It has also focused on spending on infrastructure to build better communities across Canada. There is no better way to further these dual goals than by engaging Indigenous people as the builders of Canada they have always been.


Downloadable Materials

This leaflet is designed for Indigenous communities; providing awareness of the Building Trades Unions and what we have to offer.
Build Together – Indigenous Unions Leaflet

This booklet is on Indigenous Allyship, a booklet that is available to our Unions, Contractors, Employers & Members.
Build Together – IndigAlly Booklet

Want some booklets sent to you? Contact our Program Director Lindsay Amundsen at LAmundsen@buildingtrades.ca


Resources

BuildForce Canada’s Aboriginal Recruitment Resources

http://www.buildforce.ca/en/catalog/recruitment/aboriginal-people

Aboriginal Apprenticeship Board of Ontario

http://aabo.ca/

The Indigenous Inclusion Continuum developed by Indigenous Works

https://indigenousworks.ca/en/products/item/inclusion-continuum

The Indigenous Innovation Summit hosted by the Friendship Centres

http://nafc.ca/en/indigenous-innovation-summit/

Aboriginal trades people are succeeding in every apprenticed trade in BC, working in high demand jobs and starting businesses.

http://www.itabc.ca/aboriginal-people-trades/success-stories